VI. 03.10.16

When we were together was there

a single moment when you were

actually with me and not suckered

into your phone (busy texting another girl);

even then I could never muster up

enough anger to leave, only ever pain

and an inescapable sense of wrongness

I was wrong; so went the well-thought lie

Tell me did you once have your eye

just on me instead of all your pretty friends;

just friends, yes, and yet you can’t seem

to ever stop texting them

Would it hurt you to know

while you sat next to me in bed

images of him filled my head?

Was I ever capable of hurting you like that

or are you just a flirt;

just empty gestures and words?

Leave a Reply

